Home My YFS

Featured Articles

Preston Easter Cup extend registration date

Preston Easter Cup Website | Facebook   The Preston Easter Cup is fast approaching on on 3rd-5th April 2015.  There are certain a...

Syngenta Winter Invitational Tournament - Roundup

  Sunday 28th December 2015 saw the Inaugural Syngenta Winter Invitational Tournament take place at the Falkirk Stadium. It f...

Dana Cup Hjorring 2015 - 'World class youth football tournament'

Dana Cup Website | Facebook | Twitter   Dana Cup Hjørring 20-25 July 2015   It is with great pleasure we invite yo...

Central Scotland FA League Cup final DVDs now available

  The YFS TV cameras were at Stenhousemuir FC's Ochilview Park on Saturday 14th December, to capture the Central Scotland FA'...

YFS opens biggest ever Christmas Giveaway

  The YFS Big Christmas Giveaway is back for 2014 and it's bigger than ever. Thousands of pounds worth of goodies are available t...

  • Preston Easter Cup extend registration date

  • Syngenta Winter Invitational Tournament - Roundup

  • Dana Cup Hjorring 2015 - 'World class youth football tournament'

  • Central Scotland FA League Cup final DVDs now available

  • YFS opens biggest ever Christmas Giveaway

Photo gallery from today's @Tynecastle_FC vs @peeblesfc U19's cup tie now online @ youthfootballscotland.zenfolio.com/p522324940 pic.twitter.com/LmAK58FVWT 6 hours ago
Renfrew Victoria Under 17s
Milton Stars Under 17s
Competition: West Regional Cup Final 
Venue: Petershill, Glasgow
Date:  12/06/11
It may have been the occasion that got to these two sides as the game was not played at the level of quality and urgency we have come to expect from two strong U17 teams. It was Renfrew Victoria who managed to secure victory in the dying minutes of the game, narrowly avoiding extra time and securing the West region U17s cup.
The first goal of the game came from Renfrew Vics’s Marc Russell, latching onto a ball from Kyle Cumming, managing to stay composed and finish it past the Milton Stars keeper, Kerr McLernon.  Throughout the first half, both sides looked to break through the defensive lines but were lacking cutting edge to test either keeper for the majority of the half.
Of the two, Renfrew Vics were looking more dangerous on the attack, with Milton Stars keeper McLernon eventually being forced to make a top drawer save towards the end of the first half after Vics Conor Kelly hit a fantastic 25 yard strike on target.
Half Time: Renfrew Victoria U17s 1-0 Milton Stars U17s 
Milton Stars started the second looking to apply pressure, with Anthony Dearie getting an early opportunity, blasting the ball over the Vics crossbar. Renfrew Victoria’s keeper Dale Burgess was called into action, beating away a Christopher Gorman close range effort. This was quickly followed with Kyle Cutkelvin striking the post with a header which Vics somehow managed to scramble clear. 
Milton Stars’ persistence in the second half finally paid off with an equaliser thanks to Daryl Meikle capitalising on a blunder from the Keeper Burgess, which was unexpected considering his strong performance up until that point. 
The Vics keeper demonstrated great maturity in not letting the previous error affect the rest of his performance.  A long range effort from Milton's James McCrorie forced a great save, keeping Vics in the game in the late stages.
In the closing stages of the game, it looked to be going into extra time.  Renfrew Vics managed to snatch a goal five minutes from the end, tall number 14 Jonathon Wild floating in a free kick which Vics Ross Douglas got on the end of, hitting the Milton post on its way in, leaving little chance for the Milton keeper.
Congratulations to Renfrew Victoria U17s on winning the West Regional cup final. 
Full Time:  Renfrew Victoria U17s 2 - 1 Milton Stars U17s

Renfrew Victoria Under 17s
Milton Stars Under 17s
1. Dale Burgess
6. Adam Calder
12. Robbie Halliday
5.Fraser Keenan
10. Jason Boyle
9. Ross Douglas
4. Jordan O’Donnell
15. Conor Kelly
14. Jonathon Wild
3. Connor Guinea
16. Craig Heron
8. Marc Russell
11. Kyle Cumming 
2. Jamie Jackson
1. Andrew Watson
2. Andrew Brown
3. Grant Thomson
4. Christopher Hurst
5. Jack Taylor
6. Stuart Cuthbert
7. Ross Weir
8. Daryl Meikle
9. Anthony Dearie
10. Ryan Innes
11. James McCrorie
14. Sean Dunbar
15. Marc Houston
16. Christohpher Gorman
17. Kyle Cutkelvin
18. Kerr McLernon
 YFS Man of the Match: Ross Douglas
YFS Man of the Match: Daryl Meikle