Home My YFS

Monifieth strike late to edge out Dryburgh CC in seven-goal thriller

Monifieth Athletic 4

Wanless 6, Carmichael 38, Dryden (p) 70, McDowell 80

Dryburgh Athletic CC 3

Galloway OG 10, Stewart 53, Hutton 66
  • Sunday, 15 April 2018
  • North End Park
  • Under 16´s
  • Chuck McGowan Cup

Andrew Creegan

Andrew Creegan | YFS East Region Multimedia Journalist
Articles by Author | Contact Author

An injury time goal from Ross McDowell clinched the Chuck McGowan Cup for Monifieth Athletic after a thrilling final. The striker latched onto Oli Carmichael’s pass and fired past Cammy Grant to settle a tie that saw both team’s ahead during the 80 minutes.

There has been little between these sides this season, and Monifieth got off to the perfect start when they opened the scoring after six minutes. Josh Wanless’s corner caught out Cammy Grant and sailed straight into the net.

Dryburgh went on the offensive and nearly equalised through Jack Whyte who linked with Kal Duncan, but he failed to hit the target from the edge of the box.

With 10 minutes on the clock, Dryburgh did level the score. Duncan swept the ball towards goal, and despite a fine reaction save from Dylan Kelly, the ball rebounded off Michael Galloway and into the net.

Monifieth were nearly behind when a long free kick caught out Kelly, but Liam Annan managed to slide the ball off the line. At the other end, Adam Gray brought a save out of Grant before Annan bulleted a header just over from the resulting corner.

Wanless pounced on a loose ball inside the box but was denied by Grant from close range. With half time approaching, Monifieth went ahead for a second time.

Oli Carmichael raced down the left wing and slipped a shot past the oncoming Grant into the net, despite the efforts of the recovering Dryburgh defenders.

  • Half Time:
  • Monifieth Athletic
  • 2-1
  • Dryburgh Athletic CC

Stuart Hoggan showed good feet on the left to get into the box but saw his near post effort kept out by Kelly. Hoggan’s deep free kick was headed in by David Stewart 11 minutes after the restart as Dryburgh drew level.

At the other end, Carmichael was denied by Grant. Both sides were looking for a third goal, and Dryburgh got theirs when substitute Paul Hutton forced the ball home from close range after 66 minutes.

The lead would prove to be short lived as Luke Owen’s wiped out Ross McDowell in the box. Monifieth captain Cameron Dryden made no mistake with the spot kick, drilling the ball into the bottom right corner.

As the final whistle and prospect of a penalty shootout approached, Dryburgh were handed a golden opportunity to take the lead as Whyte was fouled 20 yards from goal. Hoggan took the free kick, but his effort was poor.

Dryburgh would be made to pay for passing this chance up as Carmichael released McDowell, who raced clear of the Dryburgh defence and slotted the ball past Grant in the final minute of the game to win the cup for Monifieth.

This was a tough one to take for Dryburgh, who contributed so much to a thrilling final. On another day, they may have forced a penalty shootout and gone on to lift the cup. They will turn their attention to the league and trying to secure the title and promotion to the top flight.

As for Monifieth, this was the perfect way for them to put last year’s disappointment to bed. Even when Dryburgh went ahead, their belief didn’t waver, and they forced their way back into the tie.

In Ross McDowell, they have a match winner who produced the goods on the biggest stage. They will be hoping to keep up their unbeaten run and make it a league and cup double, something that on today’s showing, is a real possibility.

  • Full Time:
  • Monifieth Athletic
  • 4-3
  • Dryburgh Athletic CC


Monifieth Athletic
Dryburgh Athletic CC
1. Dylan Kelly
2. Jamie Lynch
3. Phillip Lowe
4. Lewis Lawson
7. Ross McDowell
8. Sean MacKinnon
9. Lewis Kelly
10. Josh Wanless
11. Oliver Carmichael
12. Adam Gray
13. Michael Galloway
14. Cameron Dryden
15. Liam Annan
17. Aedan Gillespie
18. Greg Kemp
1. Cammy Grant
3. Marc Roy
4. Luki Kowalski
5. Kal Duncan
6. Stuart Hoggan
7. Reece Hurrell
8. Josh Cairns
9. Jack Whyte
10. Luke Owens
11. Ryan Lawson
12. Robbie Worsley
13. Josh Petrie
14. Jay McDonald
16. Ben Millar
19. David Stewart
20. Paul Hutton
Star Player
Monifieth Athletic
Dryburgh Athletic CC
Ross McDowell - The striker was full of running from the first minute to the last, winning the penalty that brought Monifieth level before keeping his cool to slot home the winner.
Kal Duncan - Put in a good shift all over the pitch and set up his side's first goal.
Magic Moment
Monifieth Athletic
Dryburgh Athletic CC
McDowell's Goal - A fine finish to win his side the cup.
Hutton's Goal - Not the prettiest goal, but one that gave Dryburgh the lead at an important stage in the match.
  • Match report and photos copyright Youth Football Scotland.
Login to post comments