Home My YFS

Lowlands Development Teams Confirmed as League Set-Up is Revealed

Written by  Matthew Muir

A total of 68 teams across Scotland have been confirmed to be playing in the newly formed Lowlands Development League, with clubs split into an East and West Conference, although it has still to be determined which conference each club will fall into.

There will be two league conferences in the East, with a 16-14 split, and three conferences in the West, with a split of 14-12-12.

The league will become part of the SPFL pyramid and will be known as the sixth tier while acting as a feeder to the Scottish Lowland Football League and brand new West of Scotland Football League, directly above.

The newly founded league campaign has been set a start date for October but will be in accordance of the guidelines set out by the Scottish Government and the SFA due to the Coronavirus pandemic. 

There will be cup competitions throughout the campaign with two in the East and West and one where all 68 clubs will participate. 

The list below, shows each of the 68 clubs and in which Conference, albeit not determined they could potentially play under. 

East Conference – 30 teams

·       Blackburn United

·       Bonnyrigg Rose Athletic

·       Camelon

·       Civil Service Strollers

·       Dalkeith Thistle

·       Dunipace

·       East Fife

·       Edinburgh City

·       Edinburgh South

·       Edinburgh United

·       Edinburgh University

·       Gala Fairydean Rovers

·       Glenrothes

·       Heriot Watt University

·       Hill of Beath Hawthorn

·       Inverkeithing Hillfield Swifts

·       Jeanfield Swifts

·       Kelty Hearts

·       Kennoway Star Hearts

·       Kirkcaldy and Dysart

·       Leith Athletic

·       Lothian Thistle HV

·       Musselburgh Athletic

·       Penicuik Athletic

·       Preston Athletic

·       Sauchie

·       Spartans

·       Tynecastle

·       University of Stirling

·       Whitehill Welfare


West Conference – 38 teams

·       Ardrossan Winton Rovers

·       Arthurlie

·       Beith Juniors

·       Bellshill Athletic

·       Benburb Juniors

·       Blantyre Victoria

·       Bonnyton Thistle

·       BSC Glasgow

·       Caledonian Braves

·       Carluke Rovers

·       Clydebank

·       Cumbernauld Colts

·       Cumnock Juniors

·       Darvel

·       Drumchapel United

·       East Kilbride

·       Forth Wanderers

·       Irvine Meadow

·       Johnstone Burgh F.C

·       Kilwinning Rangers

·       Kirkintilloch Rob Roy

·       Largs Thistle

·       Maryhill F.C

·       Maybole Juniors

·       Mid Annandale

·       Neilston Juniors

·       Newmains United

·       Pollok F.C.

·       Renfrew F.C.

·       Rossvale

·       Shettleston

·       St Anthony's

·       St Cadocs Youth Club

·       St Roch's

·       Troon F C

·       Vale of Leven

·       Whitletts Victoria

·       Yoker Athletic


Last modified on Thursday, 02 July 2020 13:24
Login to post comments