Home My YFS

Ayr cruise past Dreghorn to reach Cup Final

Ayr Boswell 5

McLelland, 10, Jackson, 15, 52, Sawyer, 57, 64

Dreghorn YFC 0

  • Tuesday, 14 April 2015
  • KG5 Park, Ayr
  • Under 15´s
  • WOSYFL President's Cup Semi Final

Mark Gillespie | YFS North Ayrshire Senior Reporter
Author's Bio | Articles by Author [email protected]o.uk

Ayr Boswell are through to meet Crosshouse in the Presidents’ Cup final after a convincing Semi Final win at Ayr’s KG5. Pace up front and clinical finishing proved to be the difference on a drizzly night in Ayr, as Arron Sawyer and Connor Jackson grabbed a brace each as the home side booked their final berth.
Dreghorn can point to several key players missing out after picking up injuries at the recent Blackpool tournament, including captain Rhys Graham.
Boswell exploited these shortcomings ruthlessly and penned the visitors into their own half from the start. Arran Sawyer’s long-range shot grazed the crossbar on 10 minutes, and soon after they were in front in spectacular style.
Stephen McLelland gathered the ball on the right hand corner of the Dreghorn box and crashed an unstoppable shot high past Christopher Taylor, and the home side were off and running.
Boswell continued to look the more likely side, with Connor Jackson coming close on 15 minutes. The second goal duly arrived on 19 minutes, as Sawyer centred the ball from the right for Jackson to tap home from close range.
After this nightmare start Dreghorn finally started to push out and get up the pitch, through a couple of good runs by Robbie Handling and Sam Monaghan. Winning a succession of free kicks and corners, they weren’t able to convert this into goals, with Sam Rennick coming closest, firing a set piece over the bar.
Instead Boswell looked like catching the visitors as they ventured forward and left space in behind for Sawyer to run into. The striker was through on the keeper on 34 minutes, but Christopher Taylor rushed out to block.
Boswell could really have put the tie to bed before half time, as chances fell firstly to Jackson and then Jordan Bell shot over after a corner from the left.
  • Half Time:
  • Ayr Boswell
  • 2-0
  • Dreghorn YFC
Bell and McLelland were the beating heart of the Ayr midfield as the home side pushed home their dominance in the second half. After 52 minutes they were further in front.
Ben Mathieson forced a good save from Taylor from the edge of the box, but the keeper could only parry out to Jackson who had the easiest of tap ins to put the result beyond question.
Dreghorn were playing for pride and damage limitation and didn’t give it up. Charlie Clarke was getting forward at every opportunity, supported by Rennick and Monaghan, as the visitors tried to get something going.
It wasn’t to be though as Boswell went on to stretch their lead further on 57 minutes. After a scramble on the edge of the Ayr box Sawyer chipped the ball over Taylor and into the empty net for number four.
The visiting defence just couldn’t cope with Sawyer’s pace. On 65 minutes Sawyer capped a man of the match performance with another fine goal, taking the ball down the right hand side of the box and drilling a low shot past Taylor to complete the rout.
Dreghorn tried for some consolation, with Jason Henry coming close on 70 minutes after good work down the right from Martin Galbraith.
The Ayr side were content to see the game out for the last 20 minutes, controlling possession in midfield and helped by tireless running all game down the flanks from Joseph White and Sawyer. They will provide a stern test for the Crosshouse side in the final.
For Dreghorn it’s back to league business at Ardeer Thistle as they hope get key players back and end the season with some better results.
  • Full Time:
  • Ayr Boswell
  • 5-0
  • Dreghorn YFC


Ayr Boswell
Dreghorn YFC
1. Greg Walker
2. Connor Jackson
3. Joseph White
4. Dan Robson
5. Lee Barrett
6. Jordan Bell
7. Gavin Todd
8. Stephen McLelland
9. Euan Muir
11. Ben Mathieson
14. Ross Copeland
17. Arran Sawyer
18. Mitchell Lamont
1. Christopher Taylor
2. Lewis Clark
3. Mark McIntryre
4. Jack McCartney
5. Rory Anderson
7. Charlie Clarke
11. Robbie Handling
13. David Miller
20. Martin Galbraith
21. Ryan Mulraney
24. Daniel Girvan
67. Sam Monaghan
72. Jason Henry
89. Sam Rennick
Star Player
Ayr Boswell
Dreghorn YFC
Arran Sawyer. Great pace and finishing caused problems all night for Dreghorn.
Sam Monaghan tried to save some face and get his side up the park with some good runs.
Magic Moment
Ayr Boswell
Dreghorn YFC
McLelland's fine strike for the opening goal.
A tough night for Dreghorn.
  • Match report and photos copyright Youth Football Scotland.
Login to post comments