Connect with us

Maryhill Juniors

Erskine scrape past Bankies to make cup progress

Erskine YFC
Clydebank BFC

(Erskine win 4-2 on penalties)

U15 SYFA Challenge Cup
India Tyres, Inchinnan
By Jack Carson
YFS West Region Reporter | Twitter: @jackcarson1876

Click here to find out more about the YFS Journalism & Media Team. 

Discuss the Match | Create a Souvenir Newsprint

After a full blooded battle of a match Erskine came out winners on penalty kicks after a 1-1 draw over normal and extra time against Clydebank.

On a very windy day in Inchinnan on a freshly cut park, which was very heavy, the Scottish Cup game went the full distance of penalties. The two teams did not start the season quite the way they wanted to after both of the teams suffered day one defeats. A certain well known face was in the crowd, Ally McCoist, who was dishing out autographs and high fives left, right and centre.

The match got underway and Argyll McCoist of Erskine produced a tremendous flick over the Clydebank defence which was met by an equally great tackle by Matthew McGurk. The resultant corner from Jordan McDonald met by a thunderous header from Callum McMurchy, rattling the crossbar.

A Mark Biggins free kick just missed the head of Jaymie Cuthbert by inches in a good chance for the Clydebank side. A great bit of skill by Robertson of Clydebank resulted in a corner, some good defending by Erskine saw the ball cleared.

Ben Robertson nearly turned in a great long throw by Clydebank, forcing fantastic save by Kyle Rodger. However, the opening goal wasn’t far away. Ben Robertson struck a screamer from 20 yards, leaving the goalkeeper with no chance. Erskine 0-1 Clydebank.

Half Time: Erskine YFC 0-1 Clydebank BFC

The second half started with an early penalty claim for Erskine, which was turned down. Then a corner for the home side was hit by Thomas Kerr and curled in the far post of the Clydebank goal to make it all square.

Another close call for Clydebank came when Jordan McDonald struck the ball off the crossbar.

Both sides pressed for a winner but the remainder of normal time passed, along with extra time, meaning penalty kicks were on the way.

Erskine showed composure from the spot with Brodie, McCoist, Finnie and Hutton all putting away their efforts. Kyle Rodger in the Erskine goal produced two good saves to send his team through to the next round.

Full Time: Erskine YFC 1-1 Clydebank BFC

Erskine YFC Clydebank BFC

1. Kyle Rodger
2. Iain Corbett
3. Thomas Kerr
4. Andrew Brodie
5. Andrew Hutton
7. Argyll McCoist
8. Callum McMurchy
9. Craig Zokas
10. Adam Glen
11. Jordan McDonald
12. Grant Finnie
14. Nathan Lang
15. Ryan Muir
16. Callum Davidson
17. Lewis Rodger



1. Connor O’Neill
2. Matthew McGurk
3. John Brechany
4. Andrew Davidson
5. Jordan Mirren
6. Dylan Shiels
8. Thomas McGuire
9. Ben Robertson
10. Mark Biggins
11. Andrew Maxwell
12. Jaymie Cuthbert
14. Thomas Whelan
15. Steven Tait
16. John Robb
17. Ryan Campbell



Nathan Lang was a great playmaker for Erskine, at the heart of their creative play.



Ben Robertson created a lot of chances and scored the all important goal.



Callum McMurchy said: “We rode our luck but we were pleased to progress to the next round.”






More in Maryhill Juniors